Join | Sign-In | Sign-Out | Print Page | Contact Us
News & Press: ACCED-I News

ACCED-I Members Recognized for Achievement

Friday, March 30, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Association of Collegiate Conference and Events Directors-International (ACCED-I) is pleased to announce the 2018 award recipients. The following individuals and institutions were recognized at the Awards & Recognition Luncheon during the 38th Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN on March 19, 2018. Congratulations to the nominees and recipients for their achievements.

The Jack Thornton Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual for distinguished service, devotion, and dedication to the collegiate conferencing profession and to ACCED-I. Dottie Warner, Director of Event Planning & The Holland Union Building at Dickinson College in Carlisle, PA,  was recognized for her outstanding service and dedication to ACCED-I.

The Outstanding New Conference and Events Professional Award recipient is Anna Bromaghim, Administrative Assistant, Campus Events and Conference Services at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, IL.  This award recognizes outstanding work by a newcomer to the collegiate conference and events field. Anna was not able to attend the conference. Michelle Wu, CCEP, Director of Campus Events and Conference Services accepted the award on her behalf.

The University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, MI, received the Outstanding Institutional Achievement Award: Single Event. This award recognizes a significant achievement by an institution in the conference and events field for a single event. The University of Michigan received the award for an event titled MStaff 200. The event was to recognize staff for their dedicated service to the University of Michigan and to showcase and celebrate staff contributions throughout the University’s 200 year history.  All current and retired staff and their families from the three University of Michigan campuses (Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint) were invited. The vision of the event was achieved, the execution was flawless, and over 20,000 people attended and participated in the event. Elaine Hanke, Director, Conference & Event Services at the University of Michigan accepted the award. 

VenueND - University of Notre Dame in South Bend, IN, received the Outstanding Institutional Achievement Award: Long-term Process. This award recognizes a significant achievement by an institution in the conference and events field for a more long-term development/process that represents an outstanding milestone in the institution’s conference and events management.  VenueND built a centralized event booking department for all venues across campus, defining and creating new processes to effectively oversee the day-to-day management of event venues on campus. Ashley Zingo, CCEP, CMP, Director of Event Services at the University of Notre Dame accepted the award. 

The Outstanding Individual Achievement Award was given to Melissa Manning, CCEP, Manager, ILR Conference Center at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY.  This award recognizes a significant achievement by an individual in the collegiate conference and events field at the institutional level. It may be based on a single program, event, or a more long-term development/process that represents an outstanding milestone in conference and events management.

The Patrick Perfetto Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Heather Rappaport, CCEPAssistant Director of Sales and Business Operations at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in Las Vegas, NV. The Patrick Perfetto Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an ACCED-I member who contributes their time and talents to the Association at any level and/or to ACCED-I headquarters to significantly add value to the Association, its programs and services. The emphasis is on service rather than achievement.

The Outstanding Mentor Award was given to Lina Layiktez, Director of Conference and Event Services at University of California, Davis in Davis, CA. This award recognizes a member who has given their time and expertise to help other members as one of the following:  a CCEP mentor; a resource in a specific area (i.e., strategic plans, marketing, budgeting, etc.); someone who takes the initiative and extends him or herself to welcome new or potential members to the Association; or someone who promotes involvement in the Association in their region and/or beyond.  

Kim Araya and Tess Mabry Saffar from American University in Washington DC were awarded the Session of the Year Award based on their presentation at the 37th Annual Conference titled “Best Practices for Summer Camps and Conferences.” This award recognizes a member, or members, for an outstanding professional presentation of a session at the ACCED-I Annual Conference.  The presentation must have occurred in the past calendar year.  

One of eleven ACCED-I founders, ACCED-I Past President Patrick Perfetto, from the University of Maryland, College Park was awarded Honorary membership with the Association. Honorary membership is awarded to members who have retired or are employed outside the conference and event area. The purpose of this award is to honor an individual who deserves tribute and recognition for his or her professional commitment to ACCED-I and conference and events management.  Pat was awarded the Honorary membership during the Awards & Recognition Luncheon.

Five individuals were recognized for achieving Collegiate Conference and Events Professional (CCEP) certification through the Association. The CCEP recipients include: Karryn Doyle, CCEP; Suzette Escobar, CCEP, CMP; Julie Kieffer, CCEP; Brittany Ann Milan, CCEP; and Pamela Zemore, CCEPRead more about this recognition here.

Congratulations to the award recipients! Watch for expanded coverage of award recipients in future issues of ACCED-I Connect.